5 Comments

I was diagnosed last September, 2022. My biggest realization is that I'm not stupid and lazy. My incredible lack of memory and never wanted to get off the couch isn't me, it's my ADHD.

Expand full comment

Day 9 of my new post-diagnosis life. And today I’m reflecting on the many ‘new to me’ memories pushing their way through to the surface of my brain. I feel them jostling for position, each one desperate to be acknowledged, viewed more kindly, or perceived through this new life lens.

I am still spinning from my late adulthood diagnosis, although it has slowed down a LOT (thank fudge).

So today, the memory I’m pulling out of the choosing hat is the one where I constantly said to my ex husband: “I’m not lazy!”. He would always respond with a kind, but bemused: “I know”. I’d forgotten all about that until the other day... and I’m now realising how often I would feel the need to justify what I’d been doing with myself all day long. I guess perhaps someone must have called me lazy at some point way back when. And I internalised that subconsciously as a Very Bad Label to be proactively avoided at all costs!

Expand full comment